Isipathana and St. Joseph’s to clash in Milo President’s Trophy knockout final

Defending Milo knockout champions Isipathana College edged out St. Peter’s College by 22 points (3 tries, 2 conversions, 1 penalty) to 20 points (3 tries, 1 conversion, 1 penalty) in their semifinal played at the Sugathadasa Stadium yesterday.

The venue was changed from the Racecourse Grounds due to its unavailability. At halftime Isipathana led 19-12. Isipathana played well in the initial half but the Peterites hit back through two late tries. In the latter half the Peterites played a better brand of rugby, leading 20-19 with 10 minutes of play left but it was a Cernand Fernando penalty which took the Havelock Town school into the grand finals, where they will meet St. Joseph’s College on 24 June. The game was refereed by Dinka Peiris.

Their finals adversaries St. Joseph’s College outclassed Dharmaraja College to book their spot after their encounter at the Sugathadasa Stadium. The Joes scored 34 points (3 tries, 2 conversions, 5 penalties) to their opponents’ 12 (2 tries, 1 conversion).

At halftime the winners led 16-5.

Joes winger Sachith Silva had a grand outing, contributing 24 points to his school’s tally. Ishan Deshapriya and Bawantha Udangamuwa scored for the Kandy school while the Joes points were scored through Sachith Silva (24 points), Chathura Seneviratne (1 try) and Skipper Vinul Fernando, who scored for the Darley Road school.

The final will be worked off on 24 June at the racecourse rugby grounds between St. Joseph’s College and defending champions Isipathana. The game was refereed by Irshard Cader. – See more at:–Joseph-s-to-clash-in-Milo-President-s-Trophy-knockout-final#sthash.DlH45Fi2.dpuf

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.