Sri Lanka in tough group for Commonwealth Rugby Sevens 2018

By Shamseer Jaleel

Sri Lanka will play Fiji, Wales and Uganda in the group stages of the Commonwealth Rugby Sevens 2018 which will take place in Gold Coast, Brisbane, Australia from 13-15 April.

Sri Lanka Sevens preparation will begin soon after the conclusion of the Clifford Cup knockout tournament this month under Head Coach Peter Woods and Rugby Consultant Inthi Marikar.

The men’s event features 16 teams, including defending champions South Africa, four-time winners New Zealand, Olympic champions Fiji and hosts Australia. Uganda and Zambia qualified from the African region while Sri Lanka and Malaysia made it from the Asian Zone. Papua New Guinea made it from Oceania while Jamaica booked their berth from the Rugby Americas North Sevens (RAN) Sevens.

A women’s competition will be held for the first time in 2018, featuring eight teams including hosts and Olympic champions Australia and HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series champions New Zealand.

The draw was made at Robina Stadium, the 27,500 capacity stadium that will host the three days of high octane Sevens. The All Blacks Sevens, winners of the first four Commonwealth Games gold medals, have been drawn together with Canada, Kenya and Zambia, while Olympic champions Fiji will meet Wales, Uganda and Sri Lanka in Pool D.


A – South Africa, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Malaysia

B – England, Australia, Samoa and Jamaica

C – New Zealand, Canada, Kenya and Zambia

D – Fiji, Wales, Uganda and Sri Lanka


A – New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and Kenya

B – Australia, Fiji, England and Wales

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.