Sri Lanka name 16-member squad for Tri-Series in Bangladesh

Promising batting prospect, Kusal Mendis has returned into the 16-men squad for the upcoming tri series in Bangladesh, after having missed entire India tour. Young spinning all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga and test captain Dinesh Chandimal have also made a comeback into the team, while 21- Year old fast bowler Sehan Madushanka recieved a Maiden national call up, after having impressed new Coach Chandika Hathurusingha during T10 League in UAE.  Angelo Mathews will lead the team after almost nine months gap.

Selectors have, however, surprisingly dropped right hand batsman Sadeera Samarawickrama after a unsuccessful India tour. Sadeera was part of all the three series during the India tour, but couldn’t make a bigger impact.

Chandimal has had a forgettable ODI series against Pakistan in UAE in October last year, after that selectors had dropped him for India ODIs. However, as Another long term potential Star Lahiru Thirimane failed miserably during India tour, selectors have once again brought back Chandimal into ODI setup.

Wanindu replaced his own brother Chaturanga De Silva into the squad, after smashed a sparkling hundred in ongoing Three day domestic tournament.

Given below is the 16 member squad, which will leave to Bangladesh to take part in the upcoming Tri-Nation series between Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. The team will depart to Bangladesh on the 13th January, 2018.

Minister of Sports Honorable Dayasiri Jayasekera has given his approval to the squad.

  • Angelo Mathews
  • Upul Tharanga
  • Danushka Gunathilaka
  • Kusal Mendis
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Kusal Janith Perera
  • Thisara Perera
  • Asela Gunaratne
  • Niroshan Dickwella
  • Suranga Lakmal
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Dushmantha Chameera
  • Shehan Madushanka
  • Akila Dananjaya
  • Lakshan Sandakan
  • Wanidu Hasaranga

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.