Advertise here

Table Tennis-Devans and Vidyartha- TT champs

Table Tennis-Devans and Vidyartha- TT champs

Maliyadeva Girls College, Kurunegala (Girls Championship) and Vidyartha College, Kandy ‘B’ (boys championship) won the under 19 ‘A’ Division titles at the all island schools Table Tennis Championship organised by the Sri Lanka Schools Table Tennis Association and worked off at the Indoor Stadium of St Thomas College, Mount Lavinia.

Maliyadeva Girls College which has produced top paddlers in the past did extremely well in the girls under 19 finals to defeat Southlands College, Galle 3/1. Champion girls team had in its fold Pawani Sirisena, Buddhipani Rajaguru, Rashini Rajapakse, Isuru Godawita and Dinushi Upamali. It must be mentioned that Buddhipani Rajaguru was in extremely good form last year coming up with good performances which she has carried forward this year and this being the first Table Tennis Tournament for the year by the SLSTTA.

Vidyartha College maintained their reputation as the best school in Table Tennis by their ‘B’ team winning the boys under 19 ‘A’ Division title. They have so much talent in the school that it was Vidyartha College’s A and B team which figured in this final with the ‘B’ team carrying away the championship honours. Fielding two teams and dilution of talent did not stop Vidyartha carrying away both the champion and runners up titles.

Under 19 girls ‘B’ Division: G/Prajapathi Gothami Balika Vidyalaya, Ambalangoda beat Southlands College, Galle 3/0.

Under 19 girls ‘C’ Division: Holy Family Convent, Kalutara beat Ladies College, Colombo 3/2.

Under 19 girls ‘D’ Division: Holy Cross College, Gampaha beat Royal Institute International School, Nugegoda 3/2.

Under 19 girls ‘E’ Division Hillwood College, Kandy, beat Loyola College, Bopitiya 3/2.

Girls Under 14 Championship

Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda another school which has stamped its class in Table Tennis clinched Girls under 14 team championship by defeating Girls High School, Mount Lavinia 3/1 in the finals. Dharmasoka College was powered by top players like Imasha de Silva, Kavindhya Sheshadi, Hasini Sandipani, Viduni Odeesha and Sathya Udayangani. Mount Lavinia Girls High School were represented by Chamathsara Fernando, Ashani Atappatu, Yahari Mendis.

The results of the other 14 girls team championship were:

Girls under 14 ‘B’ Division Maliyadewa Girls College, Kurunegala beat Holy Family Convent, Kalutara 3/2.

Girls Under 14 ‘C’ Division: Anula Vidyalaya, Nugegoda beat Ladies College, Colombo 3/1.

Girls Under 14 ‘D’ Division: Ladies College, Colombo beat Holy Cross College, Gampaha 3/2.

Girls Under 14 ‘E’ Division: St Anthony’s Girls College, Kandy, beat Anula Vidyalaya, Nugegoda 3/2.

Girls Under 14 ‘F’ Division: Hillwood College, Kandy beat Dudley Senanayake Central College, Tholangamuwa 3/2.

Girls Under 14 ‘G’ Division: St Mary’s Convent, Matara beat Karandeniya Central College, Karandeniya 3/0.

Results of the boys under 19 team championship were,

Boys Under 19 ‘B’ Division: Maliyadewa College, Kurunegala beat Royal College, Colombo 3/0.

Boys Under 19 ‘C’ Division Royal College, Colombo beat Wesley College, Colombo 3/1.

Boys Under 19 ‘D’ Division: Dudley Senanayake Central College, Tholangamuwa beat De Mazenod College, Kandana 3/1.

Under 19 Boys ‘E’ Division: St Peters College, Colombo beat Ananda College, Colombo 3/1.

Under 14 Boys Team Championship

Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda clinched the double in the under 14 team championship by winning the team championship for boys as well by defeating Vidyartha College 3/2 in the ‘A’ Division finals. Dharmasoka College earlier won the under 14 team championship for girls.

Boys Under 14 ‘B’ Division: Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala beat Vidyartha College, Kandy 3/0.

Boys Under 14 ‘C’ Division: Kegalu Vidyalaya beat Vidyartha College 3/1.

Boys Under 14 ‘D’ Division: Sumangala College, Panadura beat Dudley Senanayake Central College, Tholangamuwa 3/2.

Boys Under 14 ‘E’ Division: Gangasiripura Maha Vidyalaya, Gampola beat Ananda College 3/2.

Boys Under 14 ‘F’ Division: Dudley Senanayake Central College Tholangamuwa beat St Peters College, Colombo 3/2.

Boys Under 14 ‘G’ Division: Warapitiya Maha Vidyalaya beat Dharmaloka Vidyalaya, Kelaniya 3/1.

Boys Under 14 ‘H’ Division: Lyceum International School, Wattala beat Loyola College, Bopitiya.

S M Jiffrey Abdeen - Kandy Sports Corr -Courtesy Daily News

Posted on 2013-03-12 07:33:27
Sri Lankan Airlines
Nov 25
Events Book
International Sports Press Association
LIVE Scores

Should Dilshan have continued until Cricket World Cup 2019?

Yes No

“That was pathetic. No excuse at all. The whole team is responsible. Whoever the captain is, we have to back him and try and support him. The captain has to do so many other stuff. All the 11 guys must back him and support him.” “We have addressed the issue of finishing off the overs on time in the past as well, but it cropped up again. It’s so unfortunate to see Upul going out as he is a crucial player in our set up. He batted well against South Africa and it’s so unfortunate. This can’t happen again,” - Angelo Mathews


Cricket is a game of fine margins and Mathews is set to be a modern great. Hang in their Angie, this team can achieve something on this tour. Thirimane and the youngsters form was a real positive. Prasad was missed. Chameera should be persisted with. If Bairstow was our early outcome could have been very different.


Enter your email address to sign up for our email Newsletters.

Please type in your email address.


Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions